First Nations Health Authority (FNHA Website homepage)

  • Healthy Food Guidelines For First Nations Communities : A PDF of FNHA publication.”Our traditional foods have nourished us well since the time of our creation and have been of fundamental importance to our culture. …… These guidelines are intended to support community members in educating each other about better food and drink choices to offer in schools, meetings, homes, cultural and recreational events, and in restaurants.” (Intermediate, Middle School, High School)
  • Traditional Foods Fact Sheets
  • Health and Wellness Diary


Information Sheet:  Aboriginal Foods (Primary, Intermediate)

Information Sheet: Far North Food (Primary, Intermediate)

Eating Well with Canada’s Food Guide – First Nations, Inuit and Métis : An adaptation of Canada’s Food guide to include FNMI traditional foods.  This guide has been created in several aboriginal languages that can be downloaded in PDF format: Inuktitut ,  Ojibwe ,  Plains Cree ,  Woods Cree ,  English  Copies can also be ordered. (Primary, Intermediate, Middle School, High School)

Social and Mental Well Being:

Elder Explains the Origins of First Nations Seven Teachings (Video) : “Manitoba First Nation Elder Dave Courchene explains the origins and lessons of the First Nation Seven Teachings (Seven Sacred Teaachings).  The lessons of the Bear Spirit (Courage), the Beaver Spirit (Wisdom), the Eagle Spirit (Love), the Buffalo Spirit (Respect), the Sasquatch Spirit (Honesty), the Wolf Spirit (Humility) and the Turtle Spirit (Truth) are all retold in this 11 minute video in both English and Ojibway.” Although created in the context of a parenting program, the parts that explain the teachings are very powerful including a combination of Ojibwe and English, as well as visuals of each animal that represents a specific sacred teaching. (Middle School, High School, ProD)

The Sharing Circle : “The traditional concepts of respect and sharing that form the foundation of the Aboriginal way of life are built around the seven natural laws, or sacred teachings. Each teaching honours one of the basic virtues intrinsic to a full and healthy life.”  Explanation of each sacred teaching offered. (Middle School, High School, ProD)